Cardefi

BlockCard

Unbanked (Ternio) · Visa · prepaid · Custodial

ClosedVerified 6 Sep 2026

At $1,000/month spend with no stake, BlockCard nets +$570 a year. According to Cardefi data, 10 of 21 key figures are verified from the issuer's pages, latest 6 Sep 2026.

direct — pays us nothing
Cashback at your stake
6.0%
Min. stake for rewards
None
Annual fee
issuance $10
FX fee
3.0%
Net value / yr
+$570
at $1,000/mo spend
Break-even
$1,333
yearly spend to cover fees
Recalculate for a stake ofSpendchanges every number on this page

Cashback and net value by stake

StakeTierCashbackNet value / yr
$0 you 6% (historical)6% (historical)6.0%+$570

How this card scores

Same arithmetic as every card in the catalogue, with this card's numbers in:

Cashback at your stake6.0% × $12,000+$720
Yearly feesannual $0 + 12 × $5−$60
FX on 25.0% of spend3.0% × $3,000−$90
Locked stake, 5.0% opportunity cost$0 × 5.0%−$0
Net value per year+$570

Fees in full

Every figure below carries the issuer's own words. Tap a source count to read them. A dash means we looked and the issuer does not say. How these fees compare across every card.

Annual feen/aProgramme closed. The fee schedule (Schedule A) lists no annual fee; the card carried a monthly fee instead
Monthly fee$5 / monthHistorical value; programme closed. Monthly fee $5.00 per the cardholder agreement (Schedule A); the 2022 site described one flat monthly rate that most users could waive by spending
2 sources
“Monthly fee $5.00”[2] · secondary · captured 6 Sep 2026
“Seriously, no crypto deposit or transaction fees. One flat monthly rate and for most users, that fee can be waived by using BlockCard. Full list of fees.”[4] · secondary · captured 6 Sep 2026
Card issuance$10Historical value; programme closed. Card activation $10.00 (agreement); the 2022 site priced the plastic card at $10.00, virtual card included
1 source
“Card activation $10.00 One time fee for activating your Card.”[2] · secondary · captured 6 Sep 2026
Foreign transaction (FX)3.0%Historical value; programme closed. International transaction fee up to 3% (signature), $2.00 plus up to 3% (PIN)
1 source
“International transaction fee – other 3% country or in a currency other than the U.S. dollar, up to 3% of the”[2] · secondary · captured 6 Sep 2026
Crypto conversion / spread— not disclosedProgramme closed. Deposits were converted to UNBNK or USDT; the conversion spread was never disclosed
ATM withdrawal$3 / txHistorical value; programme closed. $3.00 per US ATM withdrawal, $3.50 international, plus operator fees
2 sources
“ATM withdrawal (US) $3.00”[2] · secondary · captured 6 Sep 2026
“ATM withdrawal (int’l) $3.50”[2] · secondary · captured 6 Sep 2026

Reward tiers, as the issuer states them

TierRequirement · rate · cap
1% (historical)1.0% · None · Cap: not disclosed · Paid in UNBNK
1 source
“1% 30,000 UNBNK”[5] · secondary · captured 6 Sep 2026
2% (historical)2.0% · None · Cap: not disclosed · Paid in UNBNK
1 source
“2% 57,500 UNBNK”[5] · secondary · captured 6 Sep 2026
3% (historical)3.0% · None · Cap: not disclosed · Paid in UNBNK
1 source
“3% 82,000 UNBNK”[5] · secondary · captured 6 Sep 2026
4% (historical)4.0% · None · Cap: not disclosed · Paid in UNBNK
1 source
“4% 105,000 UNBNK”[5] · secondary · captured 6 Sep 2026
5% (historical)5.0% · None · Cap: not disclosed · Paid in UNBNK
1 source
“5% 120,000 UNBNK”[5] · secondary · captured 6 Sep 2026
6% (historical)6.0% · None · Cap: not disclosed · Paid in UNBNK
2 sources
“6% 145,000 UNBNK”[5] · secondary · captured 6 Sep 2026
“You can earn up to 6.38% APY on every purchase made for users that participate in our staking program.”[1] · secondary · captured 6 Sep 2026

Limits

Spend per dayn/aProgramme closed. Historical: $5,000.00 daily spending limit and $500.00 daily ATM withdrawal on the site; the agreement capped ATM cash at $920.00 per day and the balance at $10,000.00
2 sources
“Plastic Card $10.00 Daily Spending Limit $5,000.00 Daily ATM Withdrawal $500.00”[4] · secondary · captured 6 Sep 2026
“Cash withdrawal (ATM) $920.00 per day”[2] · secondary · captured 6 Sep 2026
Spend per month— not disclosedProgramme closed. Only daily limits were published (see spend_daily)

What we could not find

These figures matter for the score, and the issuer's public pages do not state them. Where we looked is listed under Sources.

  • Crypto conversion / spread. Programme closed. Deposits were converted to UNBNK or USDT; the conversion spread was never disclosed
  • Spend per month. Programme closed. Only daily limits were published (see spend_daily)

Sources

6 pages captured and stored with a checksum. Quotes above are matched against these snapshots by script.

  1. web.archive.org/web/20221211171136/https://unbanked.com/card/ · secondary · 6 Sep 2026
  2. web.archive.org/web/20230529230046if_/https://unbanked.com/Blockcard%20GPR%20Prepaid%20VISA%20TCC-1801-V318.pdf · secondary · 6 Sep 2026
  3. web.archive.org/web/20230526002224/https://unbanked.com/unbanked-investor-update-april-2023/ · secondary · 6 Sep 2026
  4. web.archive.org/web/20220819222459/https://unbanked.com/debit-card/united-states/blockcard/ · secondary · 6 Sep 2026
  5. web.archive.org/web/20220819233730/https://unbanked.com/rewards/cards/ · secondary · 6 Sep 2026
  6. web.archive.org/web/20221128044747/https://unbanked.com/card/europe/ · secondary · 6 Sep 2026

Report a wrong figure

We answer within 5 working days. Corrections are logged on /changes/.

What to use instead of BlockCard

BlockCard is no longer open to new customers. These cards are the closest on what it offered — no staking, cashback, USDT / USDC, bitcoin, prepaid, Visa, USDT — ranked by net value at $1,000 a month.

Questions about this card

Answers are generated from the verified fields on this page. A question is only shown when the figure behind it has a source.

What does BlockCard charge on foreign currency?
BlockCard adds 3.0% on transactions in a currency other than the account currency.
How much cashback does BlockCard pay?
BlockCard pays up to 6.0%, which is the highest rate any of its tiers reaches.
What does BlockCard charge at an ATM?
BlockCard charges 300.0% on ATM withdrawals. The ATM operator may add its own fee on top.
Who holds the funds behind BlockCard?
The issuer does. Spending on BlockCard draws on a balance held by the provider, not in a wallet you control.
Does BlockCard require identity verification?
Yes. BlockCard requires full identity verification before the card can be used.