Cardefi

Shakepay Visa Prepaid Card

Shakepay · Visa · prepaid · Custodial

1 countryVerified 6 Sep 2026

At $1,000/month spend with no stake, Shakepay Visa Prepaid Card nets +$90 a year. According to Cardefi data, 7 of 10 key figures are verified from the issuer's pages, latest 6 Sep 2026.

Open at Shakepaydirect — pays us nothing
Cashback at your stake
1.0%
Min. stake for rewards
None
Annual fee
$0
FX fee
Net value / yr
+$90
at $1,000/mo spend
Break-even
$0
yearly spend to cover fees
Recalculate for a stake ofSpendchanges every number on this page

Cashback and net value by stake

StakeTierCashbackNet value / yr
$0 you BaseBase1.0%+$90

How this card scores

Same arithmetic as every card in the catalogue, with this card's numbers in:

Cashback at your stake1.0% × $12,000+$120
Yearly feesannual $0 + 12 × $0−$0
FX on 25.0% of spend1.0% assumed × $3,000−$30
Locked stake, 5.0% opportunity cost$0 × 5.0%−$0
Net value per year+$90

Fees in full

Every figure below carries the issuer's own words. Tap a source count to read them. A dash means we looked and the issuer does not say. How these fees compare across every card.

Annual fee0CAD
1 source
“No annual fees. No credit checks either.”[1] · landing · captured 6 Sep 2026
Monthly fee0CAD; no activation fee or minimum balance
1 source
“The Shakepay Visa* Prepaid Card has no activation fees or minimum account balances.”[3] · help_center · captured 6 Sep 2026
Card issuance0CAD; physical card mailed to every cardholder
1 source
“The Shakepay Card is free to acquire and available to all customers with fully verified accounts.”[3] · help_center · captured 6 Sep 2026
Foreign transaction (FX)varies by tierBase 3%, Bright 1.5%, Blue 0% on all non-Canadian transactions
2 sources
“There will be a 3% foreign transaction fee on all non-Canadian transactions.”[3] · help_center · captured 6 Sep 2026
“Base: 3% Bright: 1.5% Blue: 0%”[3] · help_center · captured 6 Sep 2026
Crypto conversion / spread— not disclosedCard spends CAD only; crypto is sold to CAD at Shakepay's spread, which is not published as a number
1 source
“No, your Shakepay Card only allows you to spend from your Canadian dollar balance.”[4] · help_center · captured 6 Sep 2026
ATM withdrawal— not disclosedPhysical card only; Shakepay names no own ATM fee, operator and FX fees may apply
1 source
“Virtual Shakepay Cards can’t be used at ATMs. ATM operator fees, foreign transaction fees, and regional restrictions may apply.”[4] · help_center · captured 6 Sep 2026

Reward tiers, as the issuer states them

TierRequirement · rate · cap
Base1.0% · None · Cap: not disclosed · Paid in BTC
1 source
“Base/Bright: 1%”[5] · help_center · captured 6 Sep 2026
Bright1.0% · Loyalty points · Cap: not disclosed · Paid in BTC
1 source
“Earned when you exchange $100 or receive $200+ in direct deposits per calendar month.”[6] · help_center · captured 6 Sep 2026
Blue1.5% · Loyalty points · Cap: not disclosed · Paid in BTC
2 sources
“Earned when you exchange $1,000+ or receive $2,000+ in direct deposits per calendar month.”[6] · help_center · captured 6 Sep 2026
“Blue: 1.5%”[5] · help_center · captured 6 Sep 2026

No rewards on: ATM withdrawals, Account top-ups and bill payments, Financial institutions, crypto and foreign currency purchases, Securities purchases.

Limits

spend tx5000CAD
1 source
“$5,000 CAD per transaction”[3] · help_center · captured 6 Sep 2026
Spend per day5000CAD
1 source
“$5,000 CAD per day”[3] · help_center · captured 6 Sep 2026
Spend per month50000CAD; limits cannot be increased
1 source
“$50,000 CAD per month”[3] · help_center · captured 6 Sep 2026

What we could not find

These figures matter for the score, and the issuer's public pages do not state them. Where we looked is listed under Sources.

  • Crypto conversion / spread. Card spends CAD only; crypto is sold to CAD at Shakepay's spread, which is not published as a number
  • ATM withdrawal. Physical card only; Shakepay names no own ATM fee, operator and FX fees may apply

Sources

6 pages captured and stored with a checksum. Quotes above are matched against these snapshots by script.

  1. shakepay.com/card · landing · 6 Sep 2026
  2. www.cdic.ca/your-coverage/list-of-member-institutions/ · legal · 6 Sep 2026
  3. help.shakepay.com/en/articles/5567198-what-are-the-fees-and-limits-of-the-shakepay-card · help_center · 6 Sep 2026
  4. help.shakepay.com/en/articles/5274128-how-does-the-shakepay-card-work · help_center · 6 Sep 2026
  5. help.shakepay.com/en/articles/5274309-cashback-rewards-with-the-shakepay-prepaid-visa-card · help_center · 6 Sep 2026
  6. help.shakepay.com/en/articles/13067281-what-are-the-shakepay-reward-statuses · help_center · 6 Sep 2026

Report a wrong figure

We answer within 5 working days. Corrections are logged on /changes/.

Availability and terms by country

One row per country with a Cardefi hub, read from the issuer's own country lists. 1 countries are listed as available in total.

CountryStatusIssuer / licence
CanadaAvailablechecked 6 Sep 2026Peoples Trust Company

Questions about this card

Answers are generated from the verified fields on this page. A question is only shown when the figure behind it has a source.

Does Shakepay Visa Prepaid Card charge an annual fee?
The annual fee for Shakepay Visa Prepaid Card is $0.
How much cashback does Shakepay Visa Prepaid Card pay?
Shakepay Visa Prepaid Card pays up to 1.0%, which is the highest rate any of its tiers reaches.
Does Shakepay Visa Prepaid Card work with Apple Pay or Google Pay?
Shakepay Visa Prepaid Card works with Apple Pay and Google Pay.
Who holds the funds behind Shakepay Visa Prepaid Card?
The issuer does. Spending on Shakepay Visa Prepaid Card draws on a balance held by the provider, not in a wallet you control.
Does Shakepay Visa Prepaid Card require identity verification?
Yes. Shakepay Visa Prepaid Card requires full identity verification before the card can be used.