Cardefi

Fold Card (prepaid debit)

Fold · Visa · prepaid · Custodial

1 countryVerified 5 Sep 2026

Fold Card (prepaid debit) does not publish its cashback terms; net value is computed on fees only, so at $1,000/month spend the card costs $30 a year. According to Cardefi data, 4 of 9 key figures are verified from the issuer's pages, latest 5 Sep 2026.

Open at Folddirect — pays us nothing
Cashback at your stake
not disclosed
Min. stake for rewards
Annual fee
$0
FX fee
Net value / yr
−$30
at $1,000/mo spend
Break-even
not computed: cashback rate not published
Recalculate for a stake ofSpendchanges every number on this page

Cashback and net value by stake

StakeTierCashbackNet value / yr
$0 you Fold (free)Fold (free)not disclosed−$30

How this card scores

Same arithmetic as every card in the catalogue, with this card's numbers in:

Cashback at your stakenot disclosed
Yearly feesannual $0 + 12 × $0−$0
FX on 25.0% of spend1.0% assumed × $3,000−$30
Locked stake, 5.0% opportunity cost$0 × 5.0%−$0
Net value per year−$30

Fees in full

Every figure below carries the issuer's own words. Tap a source count to read them. A dash means we looked and the issuer does not say. How these fees compare across every card.

Annual fee$0 / yearFree plan; Fold+ $100/year or $10/month is in tiers
1 source
“Annual or Monthly Fee $0 $100 per yr. or $10 per mo.”[4] · legal · captured 5 Sep 2026
Monthly fee$0 / month
1 source
“Annual or Monthly Fee $0 $100 per yr. or $10 per mo.”[4] · legal · captured 5 Sep 2026
Card issuance— not disclosedNot stated in the Short Form Disclosure
Foreign transaction (FX)varies by tierFlat $3.00 per foreign transaction on the free plan; $0 for Fold+
1 source
“Foreign Transaction Fee $3.00 $0”[4] · legal · captured 5 Sep 2026
Crypto conversion / spreadn/aThe card debits the USD balance; bitcoin is sold separately in the app
ATM withdrawal0.0%Flat $3.50 per withdrawal on the free plan; $0 for Fold+
1 source
“ATM Withdrawal $3.50 $0”[4] · legal · captured 5 Sep 2026
ATM fixed fee$3.50 / tx
1 source
“ATM Withdrawal $3.50 $0”[4] · legal · captured 5 Sep 2026
Inactivity$5 / monthAfter 12 months without transactions; $0 for Fold+
1 source
“Inactivity (failing to initiate a transaction for 12 consecutive months) $5 per mo. $0”[4] · legal · captured 5 Sep 2026

Reward tiers, as the issuer states them

TierRequirement · rate · cap
Fold (free)0.0% · None · Cap: none · Paid in BTC
1 source
“Fold+ members enjoy cashback bitcoin rewards.”[1] · landing · captured 5 Sep 2026
Fold+not disclosed · $100 / year · Cap: not disclosed · Paid in BTC

Limits

Spend per month— not disclosed

What we could not find

These figures matter for the score, and the issuer's public pages do not state them. Where we looked is listed under Sources.

  • Card issuance. Not stated in the Short Form Disclosure
  • rate. The bitcoin cashback rate is not on the captured pages
  • Spend per month. Not disclosed.

Sources

4 pages captured and stored with a checksum. Quotes above are matched against these snapshots by script.

  1. foldapp.com/debit-card · landing · 5 Sep 2026
  2. foldapp.com/credit-card · landing · 5 Sep 2026
  3. api.fdic.gov/banks/institutions?filters=NAME%3A%22Sutton%20Bank%22&fields=NAME%2CCERT%2CCITY%2CSTNAME%2CACTIVE%2CWEBADDR%2CCHARTER&format=json · legal · 6 Sep 2026
  4. foldapp.com/legal/cardholder-agreement · legal · 5 Sep 2026

Report a wrong figure

We answer within 5 working days. Corrections are logged on /changes/.

Availability and terms by country

One row per country with a Cardefi hub, read from the issuer's own country lists. 1 countries are listed as available in total.

CountryStatusIssuer / licence
United StatesAvailablechecked 5 Sep 2026Sutton Bank

Questions about this card

Answers are generated from the verified fields on this page. A question is only shown when the figure behind it has a source.

Does Fold Card (prepaid debit) charge an annual fee?
The annual fee for Fold Card (prepaid debit) is $0.
Does Fold Card (prepaid debit) work with Apple Pay or Google Pay?
Fold Card (prepaid debit) works with Apple Pay and Google Pay.
What does Fold Card (prepaid debit) charge at an ATM?
Fold Card (prepaid debit) charges 0.0% on ATM withdrawals. The ATM operator may add its own fee on top.
Who holds the funds behind Fold Card (prepaid debit)?
The issuer does. Spending on Fold Card (prepaid debit) draws on a balance held by the provider, not in a wallet you control.
Does Fold Card (prepaid debit) require identity verification?
Yes. Fold Card (prepaid debit) requires full identity verification before the card can be used.